Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-28-19, 12:31 AM  
Kiwi Katie

Too much choice and a walk down memory lane

I'm sure this must have been discussed many times here: I frequently find myself paralyzed by all the fitness choice we have nowadays - something I could only have dreamed about years ago.

As a teen in 1980's New Zealand I used to buy Shape magazine and was mesmerized by the ads - particularly the one advertising Firm Vol. 1 with Susan Harris on the cover - oh how I wanted that! However it was too expensive and just about impossible to obtain. NZ did eventually have fitness videos but they were generally dull, and beginner-level.

I discovered VF in about 1996 when I also got dial-up internet, had heard about power yoga and was on a mission to buy my first video direct from the US (which was a Bryan Kest one). At that time I was a poor student so a tight budget, NZD/USD exchange rates and high shipping costs meant that I only grew my collection slowly. For a long time I was perfectly content with a rotation of Gin Miller's Intense Moves, a couple of Firm workouts, Bryan Kest, one of Cathy's earlier workouts and Karen Voight's Energy Sprint.

This afternoon I stood in my workout area, looked at my bookshelf and thought about doing a Firm workout..but which one? I said I was going to focus more on barre at the moment so maybe P57...but I still have my Openfit subscription so it should be Xtend Barre. But I'm not really enjoying it - I'm taking adult ballet classes so perhaps I should be doing a Lazy Dancer workout to brush up on technique. However my trial Tracey Mallet sub is just about at an end so I'll do one of her workouts. Or the barre workout on Les Mills on Demand? I never seem to do that. And I do have a cheap gym membership as sometimes I just like to use their treadmill. Though there is a good reformer class on in town tonight.