Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-20-17, 05:01 PM  
KateTT
VF Supporter

Slightly OT - Hot flashes and calorie burn

I post this, halfway tongue-in-cheek, halfway seriously.

Do you suppose you burn calories during a hot flash? I am entering that wonderful period in a woman's life (NOT) and have some dang wicked power surges!
I mean I can totally sweat through a shirt without even moving! Often more than working out!

I hope I am burning off some calories at the same time.

Whattya think?

When your body screams, tell it to shut up! Body Pump

"Where I am today is where my mind put me. Where I'll be tomorrow is where my mind put me." - Billy Blanks

I'm a SHOCKING GRADUATE of STS!!!! Feb - May '09!
I did it again! I'm a SHOCKING GRADUATE of STS!!!! Feb - May 2018!
Beachbody On Demand 80 Day Obsession - Full Rotation June - September 2018
Third time's a charm! I'm a SHOCKING GRADUATE of STS!!!! July-Oct 2020!
KateTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-17, 05:21 PM  
TinaT

Oh my... what a great question. I've been in this season for a couple of years now. Oh how I wish this were true. I would be at my target weight. I've been sweating buckets for sure.

I'm not really sure it does anything to my HR or metabolism. In fact, I have found it to be a bit harder to lose. On a side note: I cut out most sugar and my hot flashes have lessened and are not as frequent. Just a thought.
TinaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-17, 05:37 PM  
bzar
Exchange Moderator

in my case, no.

Miyagi: Wax on, right hand. Wax off, left hand. Wax on, wax off. Breathe in through nose, out the mouth. Wax on, wax off. Don't forget to breathe, very important.
[walks away, still making circular motions with hands] ~ Pat Morita, The Karate Kid, 1984