Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-09-10, 01:44 PM  
kauaigirl

Location: Wisconsin. But I'll always be a Michigan girl at heart!
Where do I start with yoga?

Hi everyone!

After getting so much great advice on my running here, I'm hoping to repeat that process with yoga. I have never done yoga. The closest I've gotten is a down dog during my Core Zone class. But I'm in a terrible fitness rut and a friend of mine has suggested I give yoga a try.

I have various DVDs (I never use them, but being a vidiot and all... ) and there are several classes in different disciplines available at my Y, but I don't even know where to begin.

A little bit about myself: I'm a total yoga novice, but, in general, I'm in good shape. I would like to change up my routine and break through a mini-plateau. I'm not interested in "getting in touch" with anything - I'm more interested in yoga for body, not mind. I would like to improve my strength and flexibility. Stretching is probably what I do least, so I'm not as flexible as I'd like. Now that I'm at the point in my weight loss that I feel comfortable with how I look, I'd like to branch out beyond aerobic and strength training. If it's an either/or, I would choose "athletic" rather than "spiritual."

Can someone make a suggestion for me? I'm open to specific videos or, like I said, I can do a class at the Y. Just not sure which "type" is right for me.

Thank you so much!
Sherri
Old 11-09-10, 02:18 PM  
TLB

I am in no way a yoga expert. I initially rented several DVDs from Netflix until I found some that I liked. That said - one of my favorites is Karen Voight - Yoga & Sculpting (this is actually a compilation of 2 videos). The 1st half is yoga - the 2nd half is pilates. The yoga portion can be done as 25 or 40 minutes. This is "athletic" yoga - no spiritual aspect at all.