Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-19-16, 01:56 PM  
Aunt Famous

Need ideas for low-impact bootcamp classes

Hey, friends.

In addition to my regular job, I am a fitness instructor. I teach spin classes, and lately, with more frequency, I have been called to sub bootcamp classes. Since my gym has an older population, these classes have exercisers ranging in age from 40s to 70s -- and on the older end of the range, Silver Sneakers is too tame. I try to be mindful of everyone's joints, the age differences, the fitness disparities, and I give plenty of modifications.

I have designed workouts with different stations, different themes (sections with med balls/BOSU/chairs), time intervals (five minutes on/one minute off), alternating (one min cardio/one min UB/one min cardio/one min LB). But I think one of the real difficulties with this type of class is my fear that I am really am doing the same exercisers over and over (and over) again.

To compound matters, I rarely do bootcamp workouts on my own time, preferring instead Pilates/fusion/barre/dance/walking. (I don't mind teaching those types of workouts, but it's not like I continually expose myself to them in all my vidiotic glory.)

With all of this intro, here are my questions (AT LAST).

What are your favorite low impact bootcamp-style exercises?

What are your favorite bootcamp workout types (whether DVD or general style)?

Thanks so much.

AF

Check out my blog at www.typeALC.com
Aunt Famous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-16, 02:39 PM  
Kitten

I found this months ago when looking for burpee substitutions:
http://fatlossaccelerators.com/site/...es-to-burpees/

I did #2. Easy on my knees, still got my heart rate up.
Kitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-16, 02:41 PM  
desie