Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 07-03-21, 11:07 AM  
Vantreesta

CrossFit questions

I've recently started doing some CrossFit type workouts and have watched the tutorial videos on Constantly Varied Gear's YouTube channel (their Murph training challenge is what got me interested in this type of workouts). To me some of the moves don't look super safe (kipping handstand pushups, butterfly pullups, and chest to deck burpees are a few) and seem to be done somewhat differently from how the exercises are done in the weightlifting and kettlebell DVDs I have. So it has me wondering, are CrossFit and Olympic style lifting a different beast from the weight training I'm used to after years of doing DVDs? And are the moves considered generally safe if you know what you're doing? I'm completely new to CrossFit type workouts as of May. Thanks!
You don't have to be fast, just keep moving forward.
Note to self: You don't get to complain about things you won't work to change!

Word for 2024: Accomplished; Word for 2023: Grounded; Word for 2022: Consistency; Word for 2021: Mindfulness
Vantreesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-21, 12:09 PM  
rhbrand

A good coach in CrossFit won't have you do kipping moves until you can do the actual move with good form. I was lucky enough to do CrossFit with a good coach. Not that I ever managed a pullup or handstand pushup but he got me doing burpees in a very quick manner and doing snatches, clean and jerks etc.

In CrossFit, esp. if you want to compete, you need to be able to go the moves as fast as you can, hence the kipping moves. You use some momentum to get the pullup done faster. But they all can do full pullups and such with good form.
Old 07-04-21, 01:08 PM  
mamaste