Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 12-12-15, 09:20 PM  
LuceLu

Any true big difference between TAM and other Barre/Pilates type workouts?

Hi, I am not all that familiar with pilates, barre etc. I've started Classical Stretch and some Essentrics workouts and really like them-- but I am a beginner and new to pilates/barre type workouts.

I see a lot of hype regarding Tracy Anderson but nothing truly... articulated as to what the difference between her method and some others-- and I notice that she is very firm about only her workouts and series being done in a certain time period in a certain order etc. and I don't know that I could just stick with one instructor like that (I tend to enjoy picking up Leslie Sansone, low impact aerobics like Charlene Prickett, some Jessica Smith and of course The Firm workouts (I've been doing the Firm Basics), PowerFit, some yoga, some etc.-- all on a rotating basis).

I notice as I am aging (50), my flexibility has decreased and my core is weaker and I want to change that. My lower abdominals in particular are weak and I have more than 50 lbs to lose. My range of motion in my neck is decreased as my shoulders are pretty tight from chronic stress/tension. I luckily have no knee problems but have some bone spurs in my feet and have had plantar fascitis in the past and now get some pain in the side ankle/foot that I believe is related to tight hamstring. That is what brought me to Classical Stretch. I have already purchased a few beginner Pilates and Yoga dvds and have some Ballet Beautiful I won off Ebay-- that looks a bit beyond what I can complete at this time.

I did order a couple TAM beginner workouts on Amazon video. Sometimes I have a hard time following her.

Any advice would be appreciated.
LuceLu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-15, 09:43 PM  
Orlita