Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-24-10, 01:49 PM  
alisoncooks

Which Zyrka Landwijt dvd should I go with?

A couple of Zyrka Landwijt's practices were recommended in my other running/wore-out thread. Looking over at Mary's site, I see the following:

Yoga: Gentle Vinyasa Flow (beg/int)
Yoga: Gentle Practice (beginner/gentle practice)
Yoga: Flow Saraswati River Tradition (intermediate)

From my glances, they all seem to offer the same format (2 each of 30, 45 and 60 min practices...though they may/not be variations/premixes?).

Those of you that have done these, which dvd do you recommend? (I have read the reviews here....but to be honest they all 3 sound the same).

I am looking for something nice and stretchy, graceful and flow-y to do on days I am not running. I do want *some* body toning benefits, but not sweaty power yoga.

I am a beginner in yoga, though I have dabbled in yoga videos for several years (I have not dedicated any consistent practice to it). I'm thinking the Intermediate (Saraswati) will be too advanced for me and the Gentle Practice may be less than I want....thoughts? That leaves Gentle Vinyasa Flow....
alisoncooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-10, 02:11 PM  
KathAL79

Yes, all three Zyrka DVDs have two separate but similar routines, each of which has two shorter premixes. Does that make sense?

I'm voting for Gentle Vinyasa. I haven't tried that one, but from what I've read it sounds like it's what you want. Or, rather, having tried the other two I'm pretty sure they're not what you want.

Gentle Yoga is pretty much all on the floor. This is a good one for relaxing, but if you want strength and toning, there's not as much for you here.

The Saraswati one is fairly vigorous, especially for someone who's probably around a beginner / intermediate level, but it'd be doable. It may be a little stronger than what you're looking for right now, though.