Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-19-12, 07:40 PM  
blessed_mom_to_3

Working out barefoot

Does anyone work out barefoot? I mean workouts other than Ellen/Classical Stretch/yoga/pilates.

I am interested in this after noticing that in Rushfit there are a couple of barefoot exercisers.

Your experience? Did it cause foot/ankle/knee problems?

thanks
blessed_mom_to_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-12, 07:53 PM  
sewoodson
VF Supporter

I have been working out barefoot for about 6 years. I have flat feet. All the tennis shoes I would purchase would cause pain where my arch is supposed to be. When I went to a kettlebell workshop the instructer made me remove my shoes and my feet never hurt.

Here are some of the things I have noticed working out barefoot:
1) I do not have the pain in my foot when I'm barefoot
2) I can do balance exercises easier
3) No knee pain when I do squats or lunges

The one disadvantage is that, since I workout on carpet my feet will slide when I do planks or wide leg squats so I need to be careful. I do have a pair of Vibram Five Fingers but don't wear them too much because I enjoy working out barefoot.
sewoodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-12, 08:03 PM  
Sancho
VF Supporter

Location: My body is in Louisville but my heart is in Atlanta