Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 12-03-13, 06:47 PM  
try2bfit

Kettlebell Swing Form Question

Do you bend your knees when doing a kettlebell swing? I am viewing the virtual SKogg instruction and this background exerciser doesn't seem to bend her knees at all. Skogg also stated "that bending the knees isn't wrong but it is not correct." Then I viewed Youtube kettlebell swings and some people bend their knees a lot (and it looks like bad form). Also, is the virtual Skogg instruction similar to the instruction on Skogg DVDs? Any information is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
Jody
try2bfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-13, 08:21 PM  
Eibhinn

My (completely untrained and self taught from videos so take it for what it's worth) understanding is that a major problem people make when doing swings is turning it into a squat and then driving upward to propel the kettlebell, when the movement should be propelled from the hip snap/forward and backward movement of the hips. Within this movement pattern I've seen more and less knee bend. Of all the demonstrations I've seen, Michael Skogg in the Skogg 101 instructional from his set de-emphasizes knee bend the most. The RKCs I've seen seem to have more knee bend, but it's still not pronounced.