Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-14-05, 03:28 PM  
mghorton

Who was Gin Miller's original partner in stepping?

I was on a flight into Nashville in December and happened to be seated next to a guy to who told me a fascinating story I had never heard before. Of course, I have forgotten the names of all involved, so I thought I'd throw this out there and see if anyone else had heard this as well...

It came up while we were chatting that I am a part time fitness instructor. The guy told me his wife was a lifelong fitness professional, and somehow stepping and Gin Miller's name came up. He knocked me over when he told me that Gin Miller was in fact NOT the inventor of the step, but a latecomer to the group that did invent it. His wife and one other guy actually invented step training, and originally, Gin had come to them looking for help in slimming down her naturally bulky bodybuilder's body. They turned her on to step and through some series of events that were difficult to hear over the puddle jumper's engines, he told me the idea was taken to investors with all of them as partners and the Step Company was born. And Gin led the first video that was packaged with the step.

He then said Gin took the idea to Reebok to get a contract on her own, and the Reebok step was born. Lawsuits flew and although Gin is often credited as inventing Step training, she can never actually claim that herself or she'll be sued.

I had NEVER heard this before, and wish I had been awake enough to write down his wife's name. I've been searching the internet to find some verification of this story and/or some detailed history on the origins of step training and have come up with NOTHING.