Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 07-26-21, 01:54 PM  
Erica H.

Using a rower after foot surgery

Looks like it's likely that I'm going to need foot surgery soon and I was told no weight bearing after surgery. I've been using my spin bike for the past two months due to my injury (I'm a runner) but don't think I'll be able to do that after surgery and was wondering if a rower would be good for cardio.

Can a rower be used with just one leg? Is it possible to row without putting pressure on the injured foot? I've been through many injuries and surgeries over the years, but never had to comply with complete non-weight bearing.

Erica
Erica H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-21, 02:37 PM  
kat999

I sometimes do a rowing motion with just a Thera-Band by sitting on the floor and pulling the band around my feet, then making the rowing motion (you don't get the same flexion in the knees as you do when using a real rowing machine, of course, but there is a similar upper-body and abs benefit, and this was a substitution shown to me by a physical therapist). It would be very easy to simply put the band around one foot rather than two and still do the upper-body moves.

However, with a rowing machine, I don't know that it's possible to keep one foot out, especially if you are bending your knees together on each rep. You could certainly experiment a bit, but it might feel awkward and still wind up putting pressure on your injured foot.
Old 07-26-21, 02:47 PM  
Erica H.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kat999 View Post