Video Fitness Forum

Video Fitness Forum (http://forum.videofitness.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forum.videofitness.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Do you ever feel embarrassed when working out in front of the TV? (http://forum.videofitness.com/showthread.php?t=31174)

Vispateresa 06-23-03 11:36 AM

Do you ever feel embarrassed when working out in front of the TV?

I am new to videofitness and I hate gyms, since I'm afraid of finding myself among super-slim, super-sculpted girls (I am very overweight and uncoordinated).

At the same time I feel a bit embarrassed when I work out in front of the TV and my mum or my little niece watch me... probably because videofitness is not as popular in Italy as in the States....

Does it happen to you too?

tlatrice 06-23-03 11:41 AM

I feel embarrassed if someone is there while I'm working out. I work out in the gym on my job (they have a TV/VCR combo available for employees) and people always seem to want to watch the video while I'm working out, even if they don't actuall want to DO it with me, which I find somewhat intrusive. I'm thinking "How would you like it if I watched while you ran on the treadmill or worked out with your weights? GET A LIFE!" But I just try to ignore it and just chug along.

Debs 06-23-03 11:44 AM

I am not embarrassed to work out at home in front of the TV, BUT I do not like to be watched while working out. I'm sure its relative rarity in Italy adds to that feeling of discomfort, since you're doing something that may seem unusual or weird to others.

I think the general lack of respect for women who work out in their own homes is a part of the problem. I sometimes think of telling people I have a home gym and leave it at that, since there is so much misconception about working out with videos.

Kathryn 06-23-03 11:53 AM