Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-06-16, 07:51 AM  
Dabbadooey

I thought barre was supposed to lean you out.....

I have been doing live barre3 classes exclusively for 5 months. i'm looking like a linebacker. Granted I build muscle very very easily, but I wasn't expecting this from barre. I have mostly had a calorie deficit. My yoga pants have gotten tight in the thighs, and I have a bubble butt. I may have to go back to yoga, but I'm really tired of yoga.
Dabbadooey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-16, 07:59 AM  
cherimac

Barre leaned out my upper body and built up my thighs and glutes. I have my best leaning out results with Pilates by Lisa. I'm a short, medium-framed mesomorph with virtually no waist and linger legs, for reference.
Old 06-06-16, 08:09 AM  
Dabbadooey

Cheri, that is exactly what has happened to me. It has helped my upper body a lot.
Old 06-06-16, 08:51 AM  
Demeris

Dabbadooey--I fell in love with barre ten years ago and went full throttle on all barre methods. What I discovered was that some barre leans me out and some barre builds me up like a line backer.

What leans me out: Callanetics, Fluidity, Bar Method, Lotte Berk--slow, controlled, attention to perfect form. These are the only barre I'll do (unless you want to add Classical Stretch to the Barre genre).

What built up my muscles: Squeeze, Pure Barre--the more athletic or the faster forms of Barre.

I don't know about anything that has been produced in the last 6 or 7 years because I learned my lesson with Squeeze and Pure Barre and Tracey Mallet (these also hurt my knees, which the controlled, careful attention to form kinds don't).
Demeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-16, 09:04 AM  
Travelmug