Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-06-17, 12:22 PM  
Terri1222
VF Supporter

Yoga Modifications for Various Poses

I am just now getting into yoga and am really enjoying it. Like to the point that I almost have to force myself to do other types of workouts, because I find that I am "craving" yoga (does that make sense?).

Anyway, since I'm a newbie at this, I find I can't get into a lot of the poses. For example, camel pose is almost virtually impossible for me. And it's something I really want to work towards.

So my question is, is there any specific website/DVD/whatever that will show you possible modifications to do/use while you're working your way into a pose? I really am just following my body lately and letting it tell me what feels right and/or wrong. But I also don't want to do any damage either.

So any recommendations would be most appreciated.

T

Crap happens in bunches - Beth

Just 'cuz I want to be a hermit doesn't mean I don't get lonely - DonnaB

What the head makes cloudy, the heart makes very clear - Eagles
Terri1222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-17, 02:03 PM  
Dabbadooey

I would invest in a private session with a certified teacher.
Dabbadooey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-17, 02:11 PM  
laurajhawk

A private session is a great idea. You may still want a reference to remind you or to look up new poses, though. The yogajournal.com pose directory has lots of modifications - for example, here's camel pose (modifications are toward the bottom so keep scrolling): https://www.yogajournal.com/poses/camel-pose

"Don't say 'I can't' ... say 'I presently suck at this thing.'" - Matt Meese, BYU Divine Comedy
laurajhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-17, 02:30 PM  
yogapam
VF Supporter