Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-07-16, 06:41 AM  
Verine
VF Supporter

How to cope with newly sedentary lifestyle

Has anyone had the experience of transitioning from a very active lifestyle to a more sedentary one?

I work as a nurse and recently started a new job that involves less patient contact, thus more sitting/computer work. My last job was so horrible, I just needed to make a positive change and try something new. Coupled with the job change, I also moved in with my fiance. When I lived on my own (in Brooklyn, for those familiar with NYC), I walked everywhere--to the subway, laundromat, grocery store, etc. Now we are living in an area where I can still walk to some places, but need to drive to work. With my old job/lifestyle, I would easily get 13,000 steps daily, excluding my workouts. Now I am struggling to get 5,000 steps during the work week.

I exercise in the AM before work and try to take a 30 min walk at lunch Aside from adding more exercise after work (maybe a dance video or another walk), do you have any tips for dealing with this more sedentary lifestyle? I know we can't talk diet, but I eat pretty healthy and am now more aware of portions.

Thanks for any advice!

Christina
Verine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-16, 07:19 AM  
Taramisu
VF Supporter

I don't have any advice, but I am in the same boat. I changed jobs in March because I was over the long commute and wanted to get closer to home. Well, since starting this new job I have gained 8-9 pounds, it's a lot more sedentary as I pretty much sit all day. At the other job I sat too but I was up and around more than I am now. Plus this company has food everywhere which is nice but my willpower has gone in the tank.