Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 12-18-16, 06:38 PM  
sherry7899

help with insomnia, please!

I had been sleeping better for a few months, but now I am having trouble again. Yoga doesn't work, sleep tea does not work, I don't have any caffeine in the afternoon or evening, etc, etc.....

The current pattern is not being able to fall asleep until 1:30 or 2 am, and that is with taking Motrin PM. I hate using medication. I get that "day after" even though it is the same day, headache when I use them.

Even when I fall asleep that late, I still wake up by 6 or 6:30 am, yes, even on the weekends (joy!)

I don't want to take prescription medication.

Being this tired kills any energy I have for exercise.

Does anyone have any advice?

Thank you !
Sherry

The cat in my avatar is my sweetheart named Bonkers
sherry7899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-16, 06:59 PM  
Cowgirl32

Have you ever tried acupuncture? It's a great way to reset the natural circadian rhythm.
Old 12-18-16, 07:00 PM  
spotted zebra

I'm sure you'll get lots of interesting suggestions from different people. I'll be interested to read them too.

ETA: I'm starting to second guess my suggestion for valerian root. It used to be amazingly helpful, but even this week alone has been more hit and miss.
spotted zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-16, 07:07 PM  
Usia
VF Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by spotted zebra View Post
My suggestion: taking two capsules of Valerian 1/2 an hour to an hour prior to bed works wonders. It's an herb you can get at any health store. A word of warning, the aroma is that of stinky socks! But boy do they work. Very calming.