Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-17, 07:50 AM  
try2bfit

Knee Pain

I have been experiencing a lot of knee pain lately. I am not sure if it is from working out too much (I was doing cardio 5 days a week for about 30 minutes and PBL for 30 minutes), arthritis or something else. I am 52 and a lot of my joints are achy and stiff. I try to incorporate mobility/stretch workouts. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Jody
try2bfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-17, 08:23 AM  
Sara1000

Jody sorry you are having this. I will share my own experience but it may not be right for you.

I have been nursing a painful knee for several months - really being careful not to aggravate it with lower body stuff other than limited walking as even walking has been painful.

I joined a gym and started using the stationary recumbent bike starting with just a few minutes - even after the first time I noticed my knee was much less painful afterwards. I built up gradually to about 55 minutes every day - if I missed a day my knee would hurt again. Now I'm doing 30 minutes + treadmill (slow).

Just had my regular doctor visit this week - she examined my knee and said from the crunching sound she suspected arthritis - but since it was improving she didn't recommend ex rays or MRI - just gave me a list of exercises - said I could do them on my own or pay a PT $40 to watch me do them.

This is getting long but here is the important part - the list is all the exercises I had been avoiding - the idea is to strengthen all the muscles around the knee. Even step ups were on the list.