Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-02-12, 02:47 AM  
MomOf2Gremlins

Question FIRM Express weights question!

I'm new to the Firm Express workouts (and technically still a newbie to the Firm workouts in general as I just recently discovered the love for them! ) and was wondering what kind of weights you're all using for the FE's?

I've seen on the Firm site that they recommend different weight ranges for the cycles (not like in their other systems, 3, 5 & 8 lbs to begin with). For example for cycle 1 & 2 they recommend 8-12 lbs.

Aside from the fact that right now I only own 10 lbs DBs for my heaviest weight, I'm not sure if 12 lbs would actually be a bit too heavy for the fast movements in cycle 1 for example???
I'm sure the Firm experts know what they're talking about, but I'm still curious what you're all using!

"Change what you can. Accept what you can't. Live peacefully with all that's left."

MomOf2Gremlins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-12, 06:21 AM  
Cowgirl32

These are not meant to be heavy weight workouts. However, they are designed to progress. Cycle 1- 3-8(I can go heavier with some sets). Cycle 2-I use 8-12 lbs., Cycle 3 I use 8-12, and Cycle 4 I use anywhere between 5-15lbs
Old 08-02-12, 06:25 AM  
MomOf2Gremlins

Thanks for your input, Cowgirl!
I've done Cycle 1, sculpt, today with 8 lbs and my arms were about to fall off! LOL (At least for the bursts where she uses the weights with plyo jumps, holy moly!)
I guess I really need to easy into the weights slowly, considering I've been doing more the barre-ish 3 lbs DB weights routine for the past year and only recently (thanks to the BBS1-4 Firm workouts) come back to heavier weights!

Good to know FE is meant to be used as a progress!

"Change what you can. Accept what you can't. Live peacefully with all that's left."

Old 08-02-12, 08:53 AM  
eaocon