Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-18-09, 06:38 PM  
DHKWriter
VF Supporter

When did you start to notice you were getting old?

I've been working out at home with exercise videos since 1986, but it seems like in the past couple of years, I'm finding I have limits I never had before. I find burpees extremely difficult to do, or really anything that requires me getting up and down from the floor quickly. Pushups keep getting harder instead of easier. Tuck jumps are insanely hard now. I've given up on lunges. My feet start too hurt after too much cardio. I'm grateful for all I can do, but man... little by little, it just GOES!

Donna K
DHKWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-09, 06:55 PM  
mtngoat

I started working out at home around 1986 as well (Jane Fonda, the FIRM classics). I am 52, and would say that I also have noticed changes in the last two years.

I haven't noticed too much decline in my strength or aerobic capacity. However, I am starting to get little injuries, aches & pains that never used to occur. My body is no longer forgiving of slips in form.

I am sure that I am better off than if I had never exercised.

As the decline progresses, I wonder if the changes will be more noticeable to me (and other exercisers) because they will be so quantifiable? The average person may not know that they can no longer lift as much as they used to, or that they are no longer able to do the advanced level of a workout.

Lori

Lacey (trying to convince Brent to take a Pilates class): C'mon Brent, don't you want to unify your mind and body?
Brent: Nah. I'm not gonna put all my eggs in one basket.
Corner Gas Season1 Episode 3 "Pilates Twist"
mtngoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-09, 07:48 PM  
bzar
Exchange Moderator

i'm still in denial.

1. when i turn down the volume on my music player - it's still enjoyable and will save my eardrums