Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-08-19, 12:08 PM  
laurajhawk

My dream retirement would possibly kill me

Hey, I'm gonna start a thread! I'm a longtime VFer so I think I should do my part.

I've been working fulltime since I graduated college, and I'm 55 now. I'm starting to put a plan together to retire, and I think I can do it in 2022.
One of the side effects of even having a plan that far out is that I've started daydreaming about how I'll spend my days.

Right now, I do morning workouts (usually videos), morning walk with my dogs, live yoga classes, a little bit of teaching (yoga), and when I find time and energy, which isn't often, I really like to hike. I live in Colorado so there are lots of great trails quite nearby.

I realized that one of my dreams is to have time in the day for a workout (maybe a longer one! maybe P90X!) AND a longer walk/hike AND a personal yoga practice and/or class every day. OK, maybe some days would still be the short park walk I do now, but at least some longer ones. And of course I'll teach more - I want to teach enough to pay for my yoga passes and an occasional workshop or retreat. And ... I'm in OK shape right now but I'm not sure I'd find myself wanting to do all that! And I've got house and yard work in there somewhere (most of that falls on DH now). I realize that even if I don't do that much every day, I'll be able to do more than I do now, so it's fun to think about in any case.

If you're retired, what does your day look like, especially in terms of fitness/activity? If you're not retired but thinking about it, what do you think you'll do?

"Don't say 'I can't' ... say 'I presently suck at this thing.'" - Matt Meese, BYU Divine Comedy
laurajhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-19, 12:28 PM  
Gams