Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 01-20-12, 02:56 PM  
momof10

Review: Cardio Karate

I received the Cardio Karate series last week Friday. I ordered and got them in less than a week. I know there has been some negative things said about the company and about their website, but I wanted to give my personal opinion on the DVDs that I have done.

So far, I have done all three of Amy Bento's, which are Cardio Circuits, Cardio Intense and Cardio Complexes. I also did Greg Sim's Interval Core this morning. These have all been excellent workouts. They are super intense, with some high impact, but even without the impact they are intense. I felt thoroughly worked out when I finished them. The music in Amy's workouts were really driven music. Greg's music wasn't as driven as Amy's, but it was passable. I have never done any kind of workout like it ever. I have been buying home workouts for 17 years now. I would consider myself an advanced exerciser. I have a first degree black belt in kickboxing karate. These workouts have that feel for karate. The workouts really engage the whole body.

The moves do incorporate animal moves, which are really fun and focused at the same time. For instance, in the four DVDs I have done, the cat move is used. That being said, they use the cat move in a different way with each workout, such as straight out cat toward the front, or scoop lunge to the side and then add on a hop with a kick. These workouts are definitely total body workouts that do give the intensity tha other kickboxing workouts do not.

The lengths of the workouts vary. Cardio Intense has been the longest so far, it's 1:17 in length. Cardio Circuits is 1:03, Cardio Complex is :57 and then Interval Core is :57. There is a countdown, like BB DVDs on the bottom of the screen. I do like that, too.