Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-03-13, 07:10 PM  
Gogo

Yoga that is easy on the wrist?

I am trying to get into a regular workout rotation. I am dealing with pain on my wrist. I am also dealing with plantar fasciitis. I would like to include yoga in my rotation but so far, I have been discouraged. They have all been heavy on the wrist. Are there any yoga dvds that are easy on the wrists? I am a complete beginner, thanks.
Gogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-13, 07:16 PM  
Elzabee5

You are right; that is hard to find! a couple of years ago I sprained my wrist and was in a cast (they weren't sure whether I broke it) and it was difficult to find doable yoga during that time.

Yoga that avoids downward dogs seems to be the way to go. I think there is only one downward dog in Barkhan yoga, but I have not done it recently-- but I DO remember it is very light on the downward dogs. Bikram yoga avoids downward dogs, too, but the only video I know of for that is Raquel Welch's VHS.

Hope that helps.
Elzabee5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-13, 07:21 PM  
txhsmom
VF Supporter

It seems like Level 1 of Jill Miller's Yoga At Home is very easy on the wrists. I have a lot of arthritis in my wrists and find that hers do not bother me. I don't know if you can buy just Level 1 though. http://www.yogatuneup.com/yoga-at-home-fitness

Jill's yoga is not a flow practice. It's not like any other yoga I've ever done - it's kind of like physical therapy meets yoga. Months 5 & 6 of Level 1 do have a few down dogs, but they are not held long and it's easy to skip poses that don't feel good and pick right up with the next pose she does.

Carol

Last edited by txhsmom; 08-03-13 at 07:25 PM. Reason: to add additional info
txhsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-13, 07:23 PM  
froggy

You ca also modify with half-dog on your knees. I do this when my wrist is bothering me