Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-29-19, 08:22 AM  
sherry7899

step goals and heart rate training

I bought a Polar A370 and set it up. I had a Fitbit Alta I used years ago, and I got obsessive with step counts and ended up straining my lower back and hips.

This time I do not want that to happen.

How do you set a realistic step goal to start with?

Also, I am totally new to using a heart rate monitor. Is there a simple explanation online about figuring out training zones and target heart rate, etc. I need a heart rate monitor for dummies

Thank you,
Sherry

The cat in my avatar is my sweetheart named Bonkers
sherry7899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-19, 09:26 AM  
Sollamyn

Here's a brief explanation re: target heart rate goals.

https://www.sparkpeople.com/resource...tor_target.asp

The way I set my step goals was kind of based on the ideas presented in the book "Mini Habits for Weight Loss." I started out with a low (for me!) and very achievable step count of, let's say, 5000 steps a day (on average). If I exceeded that goal for the week, then I would increase my goal to reflect what I was actually doing. Basically, though, my goals was to exceed my goal each week and increase my daily average step count by 500 steps a day. So week 1 was 5000 steps a day, week 2 was 5500, etc. But I actually was able to speed up that process somewhat when I figured out I was underestimating what I could actually do. The Mini Habits book stressed starting out with easily achievable goals, so that you will feel good about achieving something, and those good feelings would motivate you to do more. It worked for me!

HTH,
Donna
Old 05-29-19, 09:40 AM  
sherry7899

Thank you, Donna! That was very helpful.

Sherry

Old 05-29-19, 12:36 PM  
Vintage VFer
VF Supporter

There are some newer criteria for women's heart rate training:

https://www.verywellfit.com/womens-h...ercise-3976885

POSTURE CHECK!