Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-14, 10:36 AM  
intelsana

Strange shoulder pain question

This might be slightly off topic but I have a question about shoulder discomfort/pain. I already made an appointment with an orthopedist but its not until end of the month. I know no one here is a doctor and I am not looking for a diagnosis from anyone. I wanted some insight to see if someone else here has experience that kind of pain.

I'm a beginner/intermediate and recently started doing Jillian Michaels beginner shred. I usually use videos like Mari Winsor pilates, exhale, and yoga. When I started doing jillian micahels beginner shred which has shoulder presses, I noticed that I have discomfort on my left at the joint where the shoulder meets the upper arm (so on the other side of the arm pit). I think it might be the rotator cuff. Now this has never happened before and it's not a sharp pain. It's discomfort that goes away after a few hours. It only ever happens when I do shoulder presses and raises. Could this be because my form is off? I try to brace my core and not strain any muscle.

It's a weird thing to explain to a doctor....I don't have the pain/discomfort now and I definitely don't have trouble doing any daily activities.

Anyone else experience something like this? Any ideas on full body workouts without shoulder presses that I could do while I am waiting to see a doctor?
intelsana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-14, 12:26 PM  
Betty Boop

Try a Google search using: "cause of shoulder pain when doing raises and presses." There are a lot of articles on what you have described.
Old 10-04-14, 03:49 PM  
TuesdayTaylor
VF Supporter