Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-20-19, 06:41 PM  
seabliss

Valerie Waters has bladder cancer

For those of you who enjoy Val Waters' workouts, she's been posting some honest struggles on her social media accounts about her bladder cancer surgery and treatments, which just started in January.

Here is her message about the issue:

This too shall pass…

January 2nd 2019, I had a tumor removed from bladder. I was told I couldn’t workout for 3 weeks or lift anything heavier than 8 lbs. I was like, “3 weeks! oh no!”. It’s January. I’m a trainer and this is our season. Plus, all the other trainers are posting their hard workouts on Instagram and I can’t do anything!

Then a few days later I found out I had to have a second surgery and the total time off would be 2 months. I just couldn’t imagine it. I hadn’t taken that much time off from working out in 25 years. It seemed like forever.

And then it passed.

It’s now been 2 weeks since I was given the green light to start training. It’s been humbling and I had to start slow. But after almost 2 straight weeks of workouts, I feel pretty good. My strength is coming back and I’m reminded once again of the miracle our bodies are.

Friday was my first treatment for bladder cancer. I have to go every Friday for 6 weeks, then once a month, then once every 6 months and then once a year for 5 years. It seemed like forever at first but I know…

This too shall pass.

Whatever you are going through, no matter how difficult, try to remember “this too shall pass”. Time has a way of marching forward.

But this doesn’t mean you don’t actively try and move things forward. When I couldn’t lift weights, I could still walk and mediate and journal, so I did those things. I also indulged my love of reading and movies because I knew I wouldn't always have this luxury of mandated rest. That this too shall pass.