Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-09-12, 12:13 PM  
san4850

Argh....I still can't do a pull up or chin up in p90x

No matter how many times I've done p90x, I STILL CAN'T DO 1 STINKIN PULL UP OR CHIN UP WITHOUT ASSISTANCE. I've been working out for many years now to P90x, s90, Cathe, Amy Bento, Turbo Fire, Chalene Extreme, Jillian Michaels, and consider myself pretty fit. I don't want to brag however, because I can't keep up with Cathe when it comes to "big boy" pushups. But when it comes time to do either chin ups or pull ups in P90x, I still do, to this day, use a chair for assistance, or resistance bands like the modifier does. I don't know if it's a guy thing to be able to do pull ups because they have more testosterone than ladies do, but I'm still unable to do a chin up or pull up to save my life, and it's frustrating. Do you ladies out there have this same problem even when you workout regularly & faithfully?
san4850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-12, 12:45 PM  
hotncmom

Yes, I can't do pushups. I have to do them on my knees even after all this time. When I do them on my toes I can't go very deep. I don't know what I'm doing wrong! I never feel them in my chest, where you are supposed to. I only feel them in my shoulders and they feel like they're going to snap. I have tried different head and hand positions and I can't get it. I can, however, do a few chatarungas (the down part), but the up part gets me every time. Now down dog shoulder pushups I can totally do. Walking planks I can do. Side lying one arm tricep pushups I can do. I just don't get regular pushups.

Pull ups I do under my fluidity bar with my feet on the floor (like bridge). I am quite certain that I could not do a single regular pull up to save my life.

I'm so ashamed
hotncmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-12, 02:49 PM  
Leela
VF Supporter

Do you feel you have short arms for your frame?