Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 02-09-20, 07:49 AM  
killoffsonny

Pilates and Osteoprosis

I'm just wondering if its still ok to do pilates with osteoporosis. I see some exercises are contraindicated. I've just been diagnosed with advanced and I've been doing pilates for about 8 years. Never had any problems and haven't lost any height but now lets just say I'm paranoid and a hypochondriac.
Old 02-09-20, 08:02 AM  
Demeris

I just received this from a generous VFer. I've done every section. I can tell you that I like it, but it is a VERY easy DVD. In fact, I will probably use it on a rest day.
Demeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-20, 09:21 AM  
txhsmom
VF Supporter

This is also a book called Osteopilates by Karena Lineback.

You might like the Pilates for Buff Bones DVD by Rebecca Rotstein. I think it is better than BoneSmart Pilates DVD. Mary carries it at Total Fitness DVDs: https://www.totalfitnessdvds.com/sea...+Bones&Submit=

Carol
txhsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-20, 12:45 PM  
Vintage VFer
VF Supporter

I have to say right off that I hate Pilates. It's a great exercise system, but I just never could stand it.

With that in mind, after I had an osteoporatic vertebral fracture, I found that most of the rehab workouts were modified Pilates. I didn't like Teresa Marchock's BoneSmart series. Why did she have to have the tuturial separately? I never felt like doing the workouts.

Didn't like TheraPilates with Sherri Betz either. I forget why.

Pilates for Buff Bones
is OK. She goes too fast for me, so I don't do that one either.

The only modified Pilates I could stand is on Amanda Turner's YouTube channel.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3_...=osteoporosis.

It probably moves too slowly for a Pilates regular, but I liked it and her.