Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Register Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-19-14, 09:29 AM  
Mickey12

Question Does anybody here do tai chi?

I am taking my first tai chi class tomorrow. I'm somewhat familiar with it, but have never taken a class. I'm wondering if I will be able to catch on to the moves. I'm a little nervous that I will look like a floundering idiot. I know it's slow moving, but does it ever get faster? I think if it stays slow, I will be ok, but if they speed things up I may be lost.

Any suggestions or tips on what to expect are appreciated. Thanks!

Kim
Mickey12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-14, 09:43 AM  
Sarah-lara
VF Supporter

I am no expert, but I've done workouts and I have a strong tai chi community in my neighborhood I've had the privilege to watch many mornings over the years (including outdoor classes). I've never seen it speed up. That said, you may get confused as the terminology, hand motions, and experiences are new to you. That's okay! As with any live class, tell the instructor you're new and then go with it. The point is to find a relaxing meditative workout, so don't let a few "I used my left hand when they used their right" trip you up. Have a great time!

ETA: do a google search on the benefits of tai chi. They are incredible and well researched.
Old 01-19-14, 09:43 AM  
andtckrtoo

I've taken Tai Chi. I think you'll be fine. It's very slow moving and very deliberate. I think you'll be fine. You can spend a whole class working on a shift in balance from your left to your right leg and the stances around those. Progress is slow, but you'll get there. Go in with an open mind and you'll learn a lot about a very interesting culture.