Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 12-02-20, 10:45 PM  
bfit

Can't run any more, now what?

I've written here several times over the past few months about different aspects of my foot injury. I appreciate everyone's patience and advice. Well, the good news is that my bone is healing, but the bad news is that the doctor said today he doesn't think I should run again even after I'm fully healed. I've been running for literally 40 years, it's my way to get out in the world, and it's the only activity I do that really gets my heart rate up for cardio benefit. He said walking and other "low impact" was OK, but I can walk all day and never get my heart rate up. Has anyone else dealt with this? Is there something I can do that would be a cardiovascular substitute for running? I think I can handle the mental part of giving it up if there is something else that I can do.
bfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-20, 11:16 PM  
yogapam
VF Supporter

I feel for you! I had to stop running several years ago primarily because of foot issues, but I also had some knee & low back issues starting to develop. I still miss it, hated to let it go, but I know it’s not good for me. I love to swim & swimming lengths was a great option, but I’m not going to the pool right now. I do a lot of walking & I live in an area with hilly terrain, definitely gets my HR up. I also do low impact cardio workouts, rebounding, a little step here & there. Kettlebells are also a great way to get your heart rate up. Best thing I can suggest is to try different things and see what works & what you enjoy.

Certified Level 4 Essentrics Instructor - March 2021

Hatha YTT - 2011

Your body keeps an accurate journal regardless of what you write down.....

"Take care of your body. It's the only place you have to live."
Jim Rohn

"It’s not what we do once in a while that shapes our lives, but what we do consistently.” - Tony Robbins