Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-23-19, 06:10 PM  
susan p
VF Supporter

Changing my mind about a workout. . . . 24 hours later

Yesterday I did a Jessica Smith that I have never done before. I've had Boost Metabolism and Muscle for a long time, and I've done the upper and lower body workouts, but I've never done the total body.

It was miserable! I know some people think Jessica is more intermediate, but I struggle with workouts where the goal is to keep your heart rate maximized while doing strength. This ol' gray mare just ain't what she used to be, I have heart issues that definitely impact my ability to work out. I just can't have my HR in the stratosphere. Heart rate has always limited my strength workouts, of course; I just didn't know WHY until more recent years when my heart issues were diagnosed.

I have just about decided that Jessica and I aren't meant to be. I love her, absolutely. But her workouts are invariably all about keeping your heart rate high while doing strength and that's just not a modality that works for me. By the end of the total body workout, I was just MAD and frustrated and thought "that's it. Jessica and I aren't meant to be. I am getting rid of this."

Then this morning. . . THE GLOW IN MY GLUTES OH MY!!!

I am DOMSing like a mad dog over here. Right where I wanna be DOMSing! And I love that.

So now I'm thinking how I can rework this workout to fit my limitations. I don't want to DIE during a workout for the sake of sore glutes. . . (seriously, that's not outside the realm of possibility!) --however, I think if I paused the workout after every group of two exercises, I think I could keep my HR under control ENOUGH and still get a bangin' workout.

Just because my butt is sore. Funny what a little DOMS'll do for ya. It may have just saved my relationship with Jessica.
susan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-19, 06:18 PM  
Nuggie's Auntie